What is CTR or Click Through Rate?
The acronym CTR for Click Through Rate refers to the click rate, this statistical data corresponds to the ratio between the number of clicks on an ad or a result and the number of impressions of it. The CTR allows you to know the effectiveness and attractiveness of a result or an ad.
It is very often used in the field of advertising such as in social media ads or paid referencing (Google Ads, Bing Ads, etc.), but also in natural referencing to calculate the attractiveness of a search result on a search engine. It is one of the strong KPIs for calculating the profitability of a campaign or analyzing a traffic acquisition strategy. Concretely, the higher a CTR (click rate), the more attractive the result is and provokes a click. Monitoring a performance is essential to know what works best.
It is also a way to know if an advertisement or an announcement is relevant to a target or a query for example.
How to calculate CTR?
Click-through rate or CTR is very easy to calculate. Simply divide the number of clicks by the number of impressions and multiply by 100, to get a percentage.
- CTR (click-through rate) = Number of clicks / Number of impressions * 100
Assuming a campaign on Google Ads obtained 50 clicks for 600 displays (or impressions), we therefore obtain a click rate of 8.3% (50/600*100) = 8.3%.
What is a good click-through rate?
The click rate is a relative concept: calculating the CTR is insufficient to know whether it is good or bad. This statistical data must be compared to other CTRs or over a specific period to know whether it is a good CTR. Depending on the campaign, the medium, the channel and the subject of the ad/result, the CTR varies. It is not wise to compare a click rate on a SEA campaign with the CTR of an email campaign for example.
Frequently Asked Questions For Click-Through Rate
What is a good click-through rate?
A good click-through rate is around 2%. This means that for every 100 impressions, 2 people will click on your ad.
A click-through rate of 1% means that for every 100 visitors to your website, only 1 person will click on your ad. A CTR of 3% means that for every 100 people who visit your website, 3 people will click on your ad.
How do I increase my click through rate?
There are a few ways to increase your click through rate. One is to use the right keywords in your article headlines. Another is to use images that are relevant to the article and have high quality. To increase your click through rate, it's important to use images that are relevant and high quality so people can see what they're getting before they click on it.
What affects click through rate?
Several factors affect the click-through rate. Some of the factors that affect the click-through rate include:
- The quality of the landing page
- The design of the ad
- The placement of your ad on search engines